Why is south carolina called the palmetto state?

The official nickname for South Carolina is The Palmetto State, referring to the state tree. The palmetto symbolizes the defeat of the British fleet at Fort Moultrie on Sullivan's Island. The fort was constructed of palmetto logs which were able to absorb the impact of cannon balls.

---

South Carolina got the nickname The Palmetto State, referring to the state tree (the sabal palmetto).