How are emeralds formed?

Emeralds are made from 4 elements that are found deep in the Earth's crust: beryllium, aluminum, silicon, and oxygen. These elements are found flowing in hydrothermal veins. When the conditions are just right in these veins and the cool down, the emerald crystals start to form.