What was the end of world war 2?

World War II ended in Europe when Germany surrendered on May 8, 1945, known as V-E Day. The Pacific war ended four months later. Two different dates are used for V-J Day: August 15, 1945, the date Japan announced it's surrender, and September 2, when Japan formally signed the surrender documents.