What's onion soup?

French onion soup is a simple, yet delicious soup. It's traditionally made by caramelizing onions in butter & olive oil, until soft & golden brown. Then add beef stock, dry white wine & thyme. Simmer, ladle into bowls, top with a slice of crusty bread & gruyere cheese, & broil until cheese melts.