What is the average dog life expectancy?

In general, smaller dogs enjoy longer lives than larger ones. Veterinary data shows that dogs under 20 lbs. have an average life span of 11 years, whereas dogs over 90 lbs. live about 8 years. Medium and large dogs live around 11 years as well.