What's the mad magazine symbol?

There is no image more evocative of MAD magazine than the grinning, gap-toothed, freckled face of its mascot, Alfred E. Neuman. Ever since the big-eared redhead first graced the satirical magazine's cover in December 1956, Neuman has become synonymous with MAD, appearing on almost every cover since.