Can baking soda replaces baking powder?

You can make a baking powder substitute by using baking soda. All you need to make baking powder are two ingredients: baking soda and cream of tartar, also known as potassium bitartrate. Replace 1 teaspoon of baking powder with quarter teaspoon of baking soda plus a half teaspoon cream of tartar.