When cutting steak do you cut with the grain or against the grain?

Generally, one should be cutting against or across the grain on meat when slicing it. This way, the resultant slice will be easier to chew. If meat is cut with or along the grain, the resultant pieces will be stringy and a bit tougher to chew since one has to rip the fibers with one's teeth.