Is there a substitute for liquid smoke?

OR - Use1 teaspoon liquid from chipotle in adobo sauce which adds heat and flavor. This option will work well in sauces and marinades. OR - Another option good for sauces or marinades is to use half teaspoon ground chipotle powder. The brown meco powder has the strongest smoky flavor.

---

Smoked paprika, a spice made by drying peppers over oak burning fires for several weeks, is a great alternative. Smoke tea (or lapsang souchong) can be used as a dry rub on meats or to flavor soups or stews in need of a smoky kick. Chipotle powder is famous for its smoky flavor.