How to open a jar lid?

Hold the jar firmly in one hand. Grasp the lid tightly with the other hand and twist counterclockwise (to the left). If the lid is too tight, tap the edge gently on the edge of a counter, or run hot water over it, or use a jar opener to get more leverage.