What's the difference between baby back and spare ribs?

Baby back ribs are cut from the top of the rib cage, near the backbone. Spare ribs are cut from the bottom of the rib cage and sometimes they include the brisket, which is a bony piece of meat that hangs from the bottom. The farther down the rib cage you go, the meatier the ribs become.