What does it mean to lose something?

To lose something would mean to not have an object in one’s possession such as a missing phone or a misplaced ring. Or in some cases it could refer to a relationship that has ended, I.e. “I broke up with him because l lost interest in him”. Also one might use the word lost to reference to a death.