What's your calf muscle called?

The gastrocnemius is the larger calf muscle, forming the bulge visible beneath the skin. The gastrocnemius has two parts or "heads," which together create its diamond shape. The soleus is a smaller, flat muscle that lies underneath the gastrocnemius muscle.