What was the lottery for?

According to CNN, Powerball and other lotteries claim that ticket revenues go to fund state-run programs such as education, parks, emergency responders, veterans' health, etc. . There was also, during the latter part of the Vietnam War, a lottery used for drafting young men into the army.