Is a sesame seed a nut?

Sesame seeds are tiny, flat oval seeds with a nutty taste and a delicate, almost invisible crunch. Although sesame seeds are classified as seeds and not nuts, the proteins in sesame seeds may resemble proteins in certain nuts and may trigger an allergic reaction in children who have a nut allergy.