What's the difference between mint and peppermint?

Peppermint has 40% menthol and spearmint has 0.5% menthol composition. Mint leaves are green and appear in pairs opposite each other. The leaves of peppermint appear toothed and sharp-looking, whereas spearmint leaves are oblong, rounded and lanced.