Why do stars fall down from the sky?

Falling stars are actually meteorites, or small bits of matter from space that have fallen into the gravitational pull of the earth. They burn up in the atmosphere which makes them glow and appear to be stars. Larger rocks, called meteors, can sometimes reach the Earth without completely burning up.