What is yeast come from?

Yeasts are single-celled microorganisms classified as members of the fungus kingdom. They originated hundreds of millions of years ago, and at least 1,500 species are currently recognized. Yeasts are very common throughout the environment. They are used in baking, brewing and fermentation