Is north carolina a commonwealth state?

There are four states in the United States that call themselves commonwealths: Kentucky, Massachusetts, Pennsylvania, and Virginia. The distinction is in name alone. When used to refer to U.S. states, there is no difference between a ‘state’ and a ‘commonwealth’.