Why is squash a fruit?

In a technical sense, a fruit is where the seeds of the plant are contained inside. Other parts of a plant would be a vegetable. So, squash, pepper, tomato, and cucumber would all be considered fruits, although in common practice, many of the non-sweet types of fruits are referred to as vegetables.