What is a cushion shot in pool?

Difficult shot playing on a standard English pool table since cue ball is slightly smaller than the height of cushions. When the ball is cushioned, a very small part of it is sticking up & there is very thin margin to hit it. This causes the cue stick to tend to skid on the ball top which is a foul.