Is kinetic sand waterproof?

Kinetic sand is water repellant, not just waterproof. To produce "magic sand," companies start with standard sand, silicon dioxide, and then add a very thin layer of a chemical called trimethylhydroxysilane. This coating makes the sand hydrophobic, or water-repellent.