What's the charge of nitrogen?

Nitrogen - in its molecular elemental form, has an oxidation number of 0. This is because the electronegativity values have no difference. But in different compounds, nitrogen can have oxidation numbers of -3 (nitrides), +2 (N O), +1 (N2O). Usually though, we consider the charge to be 3-.