What does foraminal narrowing mean?

Foraminal narrowing occurs when the foramina, or canals where the nerves go thru the spine, become narrowed by arthritis, bone spurs or other conditions. As the canals narrow the nerves that go thru them get pinched, causing pain, weakness, numbness or tingling.