How does an alligator eat?

Alligators are ambush predators. Large prey animals are usually pulled into deeper water and drown. Fish are generally swallowed whole. Large fish are crushed around the head, then swallowed. Prey that is not small enough to swallowed whole are torn into manageable pieces by thrashing and spinning.