Is there sugar in wine?

Yes. The sugar in wine comes from the natural sugar in grapes. Much of the sugar is converted to alcohol during fermentation and what's left is called residual sugar. A 5 ounce glass of dry wine can contain up to 2.5 grams of sugar, while a dessert wine can contain over 18 grams per glass.