How is cheddar cheese made?

Cheese is made by curdling milk with rennet. The curds are "cheddared" by stacking "loaves" of curd on top of one another to squeeze additional whey out of the loaves below. It reduces whey content, adjusts acidity, adds characteristic flavor, and results in a denser and crumbly texture.