Are people from new zealand called kiwis?

Yes, people from New Zealand are often called kiwis.

---

"Kiwi" is the nickname used internationally for people from New Zealand, as well as being a relatively common self-reference. The name derives from the kiwi, a native flightless bird, which is a national symbol of New Zealand