What's the definition of turbulent?

Turbulent means chaotic, disordered, characterized by conflict. A time of war is a turbulent time for a country. If your family moves and your parents get divorced, you might call that a turbulent period in your history.

---

Turbulence is an irregular motion of the air resulting from eddies and vertical currents. Turbulence is associated with fronts, wind shear, thunderstorms, etc.