What happens if you eat too much carrots?

Eating too many carrots can bring in too much beta-carotene, the molecule responsible for carrots' bright orange hue. This can lead to excess blood carotene which can discolor the skin. Known as carotenemia, the condition occurs because carotene is a fat-soluble molecule.