What's the purpose of facial hair?

Much like nose hairs and eyelashes, facial hair like beards and moustaches are meant to protect the body from foreign contaminants that may cause harm to the person. It does this by catching said contaminants and preventing them from entering sensitive mucous membranes like your eyes or mouth.