Which way should the fan rotate in the winter?

A ceiling fan should rotate counterclockwise in summer to force air down, and clockwise in winter to circulate warm air.

---

Many ceiling fans have a switch that will reverse the direction of its rotation. For help with distributing heat, pulling tends to work well. For cooling, people prefer to have it pushing the air down.