Why is vanilla bean so expensive?

hand pollination is required to produce the fruit of the vanilla orchid. This is just one of the reasons why vanilla beans are so expensive to acquire. Once the vanilla orchid has been pollinated, it takes up to 9 months before the vanilla beans are ready to harvest.