Is it legal to have a raccoon as a pet?

In most states, it is illegal to have a raccoon as a pet. Most people who care for raccoons are wild life rehabilitation specialists who help introduce injured or sick raccoons back into the wild. Raccoons are incredibly smart and mischievous and keeping them out of trouble would be difficult.