What's a hypertonic solution?

A hypertonic solution is one where there is greater concentration of solute outside the cell than inside the cell. Since water follows the most solute, it leaves the cell. This causes animal and plant cell membranes to shrivel up. The plant cell walls remain intact but animal cells will suffer more.