Was martin luther king a real doctor?

While Dr. Martin Luther King did not hold a medical doctorate, he did have a doctorate degree in systematic theology at Boston University's graduate school. So, yes, Dr. Martin Luther King is a real doctor but his doctorate is non-medical.