What animal is a raccoon?

A raccoon is a medium sized omnivorous animal native to North America. It lives mainly in forested areas, but is a skilled forager in human-occupied places as well, earning it the nickname of "trash panda". It is mostly nocturnal. It has a distinctive masked face and a ringed tail