Why are the beatles named the beatles?

They both liked Buddy Holly's rock & roll band The Crickets, so they named their own band after another rodent, the beetle. During the first months of 1960 they were known as The Beatals but tried other names as Johnny and the Moondogs, Long John and the Beetles.