How much water to put in beef stew?

Put in enough water to cover the beef. Cook it down until mostly gone. Add your vegetables to the beef stew meat. Make sure there is enough water to cover the vegetables and meat. You then cook the water down to the consistency you want. Make sure you cook it down by at least half.