What is a tenor?

It's the range between baritone and alto in the human voice or in an instrument such as a tenor saxophone. It also is the "tone" or meaning of a spoken comment. The meaning of the Latin word tenere, was "to hold to a course

---

A tenor is a type of classical male singing voice whose vocal range lies between the countertenor and baritone voice types.