Where did the phrase apple of my eye come from?

The apple of one's eye originally referred to the central aperture of the eye. Figuratively it is something, or more usually someone, cherished above others. It is an exceedingly old expression first appearing in a work attributed to King Aelfred of Wessex, AD 885, titled Gregory's Pastoral Care.