Who invented the game of football?

Walter Camp

---

The first American football game was played on November 6, 1869 using rules based on soccer. A set of rule changes drawn up from 1880 onward by Walter Camp, the "Father of American Football", established the snap, the line of scrimmage, eleven-player teams, and the concept of downs.