Why are some eggs white and some eggs brown?

Some eggs are brown because the chicken who lays the egg has inheited a gene that makes them lay brown eggs. Some eggs are white because they have a different gene that makes them white. The color of their egg is not up to the chicken.

---

Brown eggs are laid by hens that produce the pigment protoporphyrin IX. It’s made from the same substance that gives blood it’s red color. Eggs are typically nutritionally equal no matter the shell color.

---

Chicken eggs can be brown, white or even blue-green. The color of an egg is determined by the breed of the hen that lays it. For example, White Leghorn chickens lay white-shelled eggs, while Plymouth Rocks and Rhode Island Reds lay brown-shelled eggs.

---

Difference is really only in the color of eggshell. The color of an egg is determined by the breed of chicken, that lays it. Despite various preferences of different people in regards of the egg's color, or different prices, there is no real health or nutritional benefit of using one over the other.