What's the difference between a stew and a soup?

Both soup and stew are a combination of vegetables, meat, or fish cooked in liquid. The main difference between these two dishes is the amount of liquid that’s used for each. Less liquid after being simmered and reduced makes it thicker and it becomes stew.

---

Soup has more liquid than stew, also stew is usually a thicker liquid