What is the element m. o.?

Mo is the symbol for Molybdenum, atomic number 42 on the Periodic Table. It is in the family of transition metals on the table (group 6), and in period 5. This metal was first recognized as a unique element in 1778 by Carl Wilhelm Scheele, and first isolated in 1781 by Peter Jacob Hjelm.