What year did walt disney world in florida open?

Disney World opened October 1, 1971, with a single theme park, the Magic Kingdom, and three resorts, Disney's Contemporary Resort, Disney's Polynesian Village Resort, and Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort & Campground.