Who invented floss?

Floss was invented by Dr. Levi Spear Parmly. New Orleans dentist Dr. Levi Spear Parmly created a thin, waxen silk thread to allow his patients to comfortably and easily clean the spaces between their teeth.

---

In 1896, Johnson & Johnson launched its first dental floss. Based in New Jersey, the company obtained a patent in 1898 for dental floss made from the same silk thread used by doctors for stitches.