What's an exponential expression?

Exponential expressions are a way to write powers in short form. The exponent indicates the number of times the base is used as a factor. So in the case of 32 it can be written as 2 × 2 × 2 × 2 × 2 equals 32 where 2 is the base and 5 is the exponent. We read this expression as two to the fifth power