Does sweet potato pie need to be refrigerated?

Sweet potato pie can be left at room temperature for two hours, after which it is in danger of growing harmful bacteria. Sweet potato pie is safe in the refrigerator for 2 to 4 days, so it's best to store it there after it cools.