What is a chevy 496?

The Chevy 496 officially known as the 8.1 liter vortec started production in 2001 and replaced the 7.4 liter vortec. It was predominantly used in the 2500 HD & 3500 HD trucks & suburbans, also in a number of commercial trucks, industrial vehicles, and RV’s. Production ended in 2009.